The No on Prop 66 campaign is a broad and diverse coalition of organizations and individuals who believe in fairness, equity, and accountability of our criminal justice system. The campaign is led by SEIU California, ACLU of California, and

Organizations and Political Parties

  • California Democratic Party
  • Libertarian Party of California
  • Green Party of California


  • AFSCME California
  • California Faculty Association
  • California Federation of Teachers
  • California Labor Federation
  • California Nurses Association
  • Service Employees International Union (SEIU) California

Organizations and Agencies

  • ACCESS Women’s Health Justice
  • ACLU of California
  • Amnesty International USA
  • California Calls
  • California Crime Victims for Alternatives to the Death Penalty
  • California Academy of Appellate Lawyers
  • California Attorneys for Criminal Justice
  • California NAACP
  • Coalition for Humane Immigrant Rights of Los Angeles (CHIRLA)
  • Coloradans for Alternatives to the Death Penalty
  • Color of Change
  • Community Resource Initiative
  • County of Santa Clara
  • Courage Campaign
  • Death Penalty Focus
  • Ella Baker Center for Human Rights
  • Equal Justice Initiative
  • Equal Justice Society
  • Equality California
  • Evolve CA
  • Exonerated Nation
  • Greenlining Institute
  • Justice Not Jails
  • Harvey Milk LGBT Democratic Club
  • Homeboy Industries
  • LatinoJustice PRLDEF
  • Los Angeles City Council
  • Los Angeles County Bar Association
  • League of Women Voters of California
  • Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational Fund (MALDEF)
  • Mobilize the Immigrant Vote
  • Murder Victims Families for Reconciliation
  • National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • National Hispanic Leadership Agenda
  • Palms Neighborhood Council
  • PICO California
  • Southern Center for Human Rights
  • The Advocacy Fund, Tides
  • University of California Student Association
  • 8th Amendment Project
  • 18 Million Rising

Faith Organizations

  • American Friends Service Commitee, West Region
  • Bend the Arc
  • California Catholic Conference
  • California Province for the Society of Jesus
  • Catholics Against the Death Penalty, CA
  • Clergy And Laity United For Economic Justice (CLUE)
  • Friends Committee on Legislation of California
  • Interfaith Communities United for Justice and Peace
  • Kehilla Community Synagogue
  • Lutheran Office of Public Policy – California
  • National Council of Jewish Women, California
  • Office for Social Ministry, Roman Catholic Diocese of San Diego
  • Pax Christi Los Angeles
  • St. Camillus Center for Spiritual Care
  • Thomas Merton Center for Spirituality
  • United Church of Christ, Northern California Nevada Conference

Editorial Boards


Law Enforcement and Former Judges

  • Cruz Reynoso, Prof. of Law, Emeritus, UC Davis
  • Donald Heller, author of CA’s 1987 death penalty law
  • Jeanne Woodford, Warden, California Death Row Prison (1994-2004)
  • LaDoris Cordell, retired Superior Court Judge from Santa Clara County

 Elected Officials

  • U.S. Senator Barbara Boxer, CA
  • House Minority Leader, Nancy Pelosi, (CA-12)
  • Lt. Governor of California, Gavin Newsom
  • Congressman Jared Huffman, (CA-2)
  • Congressman Ted Lieu, (CA-33)
  • Congresswoman Zoe Lofgren, (CA-19)
  • Assemblymember David Chui, (CA-17)
  • Assemblymember Phil Ting, (CA-19)
  • Assemblymember Kevin McCarty, (CA-7)
  • Robb Davis, Mayor of Davis
  • Ed Lee, Mayor of San Francisco
  • Helen Schneider, Mayor Santa Barbara
  • Jessica Sloan, Vice Mayor of Mill Valley and co-founder of #cut50
  • Eric Guerram, Sacramento City Councilmember
  • Jane Kim, San Francisco Supervisor

Former Elected Officials

  • Willie Brown, Mayor of San Francisco (1996-2004), Speaker of the CA Assembly (1980-1995)
  • John Van de Kamp, Attorney General of California (1983 – 1991)
  • Antonio Villaraigosa, Mayor, City of Los Angeles (2005-2013)
  • Gil Garcetti, District Attorney of Los Angeles (1992-2000)

Community, Civil Rights and Faith Leaders

Organization or institution listed for identification purposes only

  • Rev. Gregory J. Boyle, S.J., Founder and Executive Director of Homeboy Industries
  • Francisco Carrillo, Jr., wrongfully convicted of murder and spent 20 years in prison before he was found innocent and released
  • Matt Haney, co-founder of #cut50
  • Van Jones, political activist and co-founder of #cut50
  • Rev. Peter Laarman, Coordinator for Justice Not Jails
  • Eva Paterson, Equal Justice Society
  • Ann Millman, past president of National Council of Jewish Women, Long Beach
  • Fr. Chris Ponnet, Chairperson, Pax Christi Los Angeles
  • Sister Helen Prejean, Ministry Against the Death Penalty
  • Bryan Stevenson, Equal Justice Initiative
  • Norma Jo Waxman, M.D., Physician and Associate Professor of Family and Community Medicine at UCSF
  • Amanda & Nick Wilcox, victim’s rights advocates
  • Very Rev. Michael F. Weiler, S.J., Provincial, California Province of the Society of Jesus
  • Elizabeth Zitrin, attorney, President, World Coalition Against the Death Penalty


Institution listed for identification purposes

  • Barbara Babcock, Crown Professor, Emerita, Stanford Law School
  • Elisabeth Semel, Clinical Professor of Law, UC Berkeley School of Law
  • Ellen Kreitzberg, Professor of Law and Director of the Center for Social Justice and Public Service, Santa Clara University School of Law
  • Eric Wright, Professor of Law, Santa Clara University School of Law
  • Hadar Aviram, Professor of Law, UC Hastings College of Law
  • John J. Donohue III, Phd in Economics, Stanford Professor of Law
  • Jonathan Simon, Professor of Law, Faculty Director of the Center for the Study of Law & Society
  • Kathleen Ridolfi, Professor of Law, Santa Clara University School of Law
  • Kenneth Simons, Chancellor’s Professor of Law, University of California, Irvine School of Law
  • Linda Carter, Distinguished Professor of Law, University of the Pacific, McGeorge School of Law
  • Linda Starr
  • Mai Linh Spencer, Associate Clinical Professor of Law, UC Hastings College of Law 
  • Margaret Russell, Professor of Law, Santa Clara University School of Law
  • Mark Kelman, James C. Gaither Professor of Law and Vice Dean, Stanford Law School
  • Sameer Ashar, Clinical Professor of Law, UC Irvine School of Law
  • Ty Alper, Clinical Professor of Law, UC Berkeley School of Law